Diver Driver

By diverdriver

Not quite flapping my arms.

This is a photo taken from my seat on the very small plane from Glasgow to Stornoway yesterday.

The plane from Manchester to Glasgow was small - it had props! - which made me wonder about to one out to the islands. I had some inclination it would not be a 747, but it turned out to be just about the smallest thing I have flown in.

Maybe due to this, the service on board was first class. Thanks to Loganair/Flybe!

Weather not good up there but enjoyed the stay apart from being locked out of my hotel at 7.30 on Sunday evening. When they say everything closes down up there on a Sunday, they mean EVERYTHING closes down on a Sunday.

Had to visit the local police station to get them to call the keyholder to come and let me in. Turns out that when I handed my key in to reception to go out and find the only eating place open on a Sunday, I should have been told by the young lady on duty, to keep my key as I would need it to get back in.

At 7.30 on my return, the place was locked and barred!

At one point I thought it may be a police cell for the night or even a cardboard box in the doorway.

The manageress was most apologetic this morning and hoped it would not put me off visiting again. I assured her it had not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.