Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

A few minutes before midnight, Bordertown...

...at the interstate bus stop seeing a friend off. The moon was full the night before.

Today as I load this is it is late Thursday. it is so hot/42, maybe more...

Anyway, yesterday...Wednesday's journal day...was mostly spent helping avert a disaster and hosting a traveller. Bookings got mixed and somehow my friend and I were at the railway station for her farewell when I suspected/we realised the train was not coming, but had previously sailed.

What potential for a pickle with a plane to catch in Melbourne the next day (today, Thursday). Yes, young Josh at Greyhound said to my amazement when I asked him if there was a bus ex-Bordertown to Melbourne to catch a plane (no train, Josh, we are at the rail station. Mix up in bookings).

Yes, there is a service at 11.55pm and arrives in Melbourne at 6.45am.

Me on autopilot (no bank card on me, Josh, will you hold the seat for half an hour and book for... )

He would.

He would!?

No fuss. No standing on false ceremony. Moving people around and rescuing them in rural Australia. Big hearts to Josh of the Greyhound booking service.

That Wednesday train doesn't run anymore anyway. It is one of the newly withdrawn services. I didn't read the ticket properly when I booked it for my friend to leave 18 December. The ticket checked off on 18 November. I have never in my life made a booking error like it so spectacularly before.

Did I mention we love Bus Company Josh?

Yeay.

Scary out at midnight in a rural town waiting for a nearly last ditch chance to get to Melbourne to make a plane and there is no phone connection to the bus service and none to anybody really. My friend said when the bus was late, just before it came around the corner, I know somebody. He told me this afternoon he is driving to ... and he is leaving tomorrow.

Good thinking, 99! I burst out with. I had started to study my mobile and its internet strength of connection to look for another way.

Anyway, nek minnit the bus showed up. Happy Christmas and a Merry one. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.