The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Poor tree

On December 3rd I blipped some beautiful yellow fungi growing out of the bark of a Horse Chestnut tree round the road from me, well today I noticed this Horse chestnut tree was not only supporting a huge population of the yellow fungi, but a large population of these huge pinky / grey wavy bracket fungi as well!!!! these fungi were seriously big (about 8 inches across) and growing above my head about 6 feet up the trunk...poor tree!
I did feel for the tree, but I couldn't help be impressed with 'garden' of fungi it supported.
I have no idea which fungus this is, but I am always open to suggestions. I think it is beautiful, with it's wavy edge and lovely gills.
The tree already has buds for next season, lets hope it survives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.