Exit stage left

By NessD

Early bird

Today was Christmas Day for me. I'm not religious so the day when my family get together IS Christmas Day. The 25th is just a date.

Surprisingly successful start to the morning picking up final presents in Sedgefield. It was never that good for present buying when I lived here. Struggled with the dilemma of whether to get my sister and her husband a present. Years ago she said don't buy for us anymore, just buy for me niece and vice versa but in the last few years it's crept back in a little and sometimes there's a gift for K too. Of course, she doesn't make it easy for a joint present. She doesn't drink, doesn't do tea or coffee, doesn't want chocolate or biscuits, can't have flowers as hubby has bad hay fever. The list goes on. I tried panettone one year but one likes it, one doesn't. Settled for port for him and Christmas decos and bath bombs for her.


Then the full works Christmas dinner and presents with them. And of course, they'd reverted to the bold arrangement. However, I find a quid pro quo approach to presents a little odd and felt much happier doing it this way.

E had asked my mam if she could ice the cakes while she was here. She's quite a baker but hadn't realised the greater requirements of a proper Christmas cake so had to settle for decorations instead.

And in the evening, fizz and presents with the parentals. Happy days. I'd recommend this having Christmas Day on a different date. It really works (and secretly I often find Christmas on Christmas a little dull).

Vx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.