Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Merry Christmas

Father Christmas came! M woke up feeling a lot better and adrenaline carried her through. I must be lacking the rejuvenation powers of youth as I spent the day being sick and sleeping.

I felt a bit bad about not being able to give the kids the Xmas they expected but they were so well behaved and understanding. I was very proud of them. No tears about not seeing family. No tears I couldn't play with them properly. No tears that Xmas dinner consisted of scrambled eggs on toast for the well people.

We knew this Xmas would be different for us all the people we normally see on Christmas Day had flown out to see my brother in Washington. Even my other brother in Canada had flown across to be there. I don't mind a break in tradition but we did miss them terribly.

6pm came. I had a shower and felt a bit brighter. A knock at the door and my cousin and aunt came through the door with Xmas dinner for the girls on plates. By 6:30pm we were skyping USA and smiling at each other through the laptop. The girls showed the web cam every one of their gifts and the family told us all about their trip. A magical end to our day that I won't forget in a hurry xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.