Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

New and questionable neighbours

Busy, busy bee day, moving the hives from the forest to the garden. Having "lost" one hive 10 days ago, I was getting concerned about the position of the hives especially given that they are in comparison, young and relatively weak colonies.

More to what I did on the Cafe Mistblick bee journal.

When I was in the final stages, Luna appeared and jumped in to her house as if to defend it. She's not a friend of bees (thinks they are flies) but I hope that for the next few months they will get on. I wonder who will go to the other house first, asking for a cup of sugar?

The hives are now alongside the path to & from the horses and chickens so will be able to keep a better eye on them. I was thrilled to get a call on Christmas Day from my ex-colleague and friend Tom in Munich who I gave a glass of honey on my visit to work in November. At some point he asked if it would be possible to buy a glass as it was 2/3rds gone and tasted so good. My 2013 honey is sadly not for sale so he will have to put up with getting another one for free. Which reminds me that I got a photo message from Oliver in Berlin of a very empty jar of MrB's honey which he had given the family on their July visit. So I suspect another small package will be in the post to Berlin in the next few days.

It's the weekend now, I'm told. Hope all have a good, last one.

PS Happy Birthday Jeffrey - the start of a special year for us both and J. Lots of round ones coming up.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.