The gardener

This is one of my favourite Christmas presents. I'm not sure how many people out there will know who this is, but there's one person I know definitely knows him (yes I'm talking about you, Jane).

This is the Robot Soldier Gardener from the Japanese animated film, Laputa: Castle in the Sky, directed by Hayao Miyazaki. It's a film my sister and I watched over and over again as kids. This friendly robot was by far my favourite character. Apparently, there's a life size version of him at the Ghibli Museum in Japan, a must see sight for manga fans. If I ever go to Japan, that's where you'll find me! I mentioned this to Michael and he got me a poseable replica robot soldier for Christmas; it arrived today! Woohoo - thank you!

In other news today, I braved the sales shopping, rather unsuccessfully (or successfully, depending how you look at it).

Then tonight, went to see The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug. The best thing about the film was Benedict Cumberbatch as the voice of Smaug - very well done indeed. I think that's all I can congratulate though. I've said it before and I'll say it again - I don't see how they can make the Hobbit into 3 films! They over-padded the story so much that it was borderline ridiculous. The addition of a love sub plot was also nonsensical. Some people in the cinema clapped as it finished - what were they thinking? Clearly a filler film to bleed as much money out of the franchise as possible - hacking away at a beloved book. I've never forgiven Peter Jackson for what he did to Lord of the Rings, but now Tolkien must surely be turning in his grave!?!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.