Pecos National Monument

A blown day resulted in a morning trip to Pecos National Monument. I was 12 minutes late to a day trip and missed the bus. Tried to catch up and never did so just drove on to Pecos. Pecos is another abandoned mission church and pueblo. This one was excavated by the very famous A.V. Kidder and is fairly significant in the development of modern Southwestern archaeology.

Pecos National Monument

The setting is great, the museum is wonderful and I found a projectile point that I turned into the ranger in charge. It was a spectacular little red chert arrowhead. There are sherds everywhere, but the ruin is not as dramatic the Salinas Pueblo National Monument ruins imho.

Today, I give thanks for the day I was given in spite of blowing a much looked forward to trip, an excellent day of throwing and the new evening service at church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.