EileenGill

By EileenGill

Far Out

So here we are at Hogmanay - the last day of the year. I don't know why but I always tend to get a bit maudlin and feel melancholy on this particular day of the year and so I've kept myself busy today - mainly cleaning and trying to get all the little outstanding jobs done before the New Year starts. Later on I'll move into reflective mode and then as the New Year comes I'll start to think about my hopes and dreams for the year ahead.

Today would have been John Denver's 70th birthday. I've loved his music since I was barely a teenager - so quite a few years now! People (his fans) all around the world are making it a special day to mark his birthday.

The words of so many of his songs have been going through my brain - and indeed my heart today - but given what I was saying about reflecting I thought that my tribute would be this blip and I would leave an extract from his song Poems, Prayers and Promises in which he thinks about his life, the stuff he's enjoyed and sitting by the fire chatting with his wife and friends.

And talk of poems and prayers and promises and things that we believe in
How sweet it is to love someone, how right it is to care
How long it's been since yesterday, what about tomorrow
And what about the dreams and all the memories we share?


Dear Blip Friends I wish you all the best for 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.