NenzNews

By Nenz

Documenting learning

Happy New Year!
Blip has been a high and low light for me as far as it comes to actually uploading or taking the photos.
So, new year, new purpose to hopefully challenge myself. Dubble purpose; for me to be here daily and documenting my children's learning on their homeschooling journey.

The last 5 days we had the amazing opportunity to house sit a lifestyle block of one of my colleagues. We had to look after the needs of Lizzy, the dog, Sootie and Phoenix the cats, Polly the pig, 6 hens and 5 Merino sheep. Ivan has celebrated his 13th birthday there, my husband had his birthday the next day, and then it was New Years Eve. The family who lives there are music and dvd collectors, so the fact that the weather was on and off drizzle, sunny, humid and windy at times, didn't really bother any of us. Luka got sick on the second day with vomiting and spent 2 days between sleeping and watching movies, half a dry piece of toast, water, dry rice and a few trips to the bathroom. I went for quite a few walks over the land in company of the dog, and watched the frogs in the wet land doing their thing. While I was sitting down on a large bolder somewhere in one of the paddocks, I was amazed how peaceful I felt, and how I enjoyed hearing nothing but birds whistling, frogs croaking and the breeze through the pine trees.

What Ivan had to say:
"I enjoyed the farm and have learned to feed the animals and what the animals eat. I realized that not all cats are as nice as they seem. I found out what a great experience shuffling horse shit is, on my birthday out of all days!" The neighbours on the next property keep horses and we were offered free bags of matured poop! The boys had a ball shuffling the shit into bags! Sorry I didn't take a photo of that!

Amazing to be trusted with a place like that.
2014, creating life-long memories?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.