NenzNews

By Nenz

Horse manure

We all spent some time in the garden today to tidy up, reorganize the compost corner, mow down the field of dandelions I had enjoyed for the last few weeks,...
Well, I am not much of a gardener to be honest. We grow food, preferably, so mowing lawns is really not my specialty. I had watched the 'wild flowers' creating a rather delightful display in the yard, until I realised our push-power-fuelled-mower wasn't going to hack it through all this green. So, what to do?

We have one of those electric edge trimmy thingies and I decided that it might just do the trick. My hands are still a bit shaky after spending about an hour or so hacking weeds all around. Ivan was so nice to make me have a break twice, once even scooped me out some cookies and cream ice-cream (does this child know me or what?) Ivan then got the task to manually chop a few branches that had been lying around after our last ' garden moment', when we pruned the camellia and lemon-wood tree. The chopped up branches can go on the compost.

Oh, yes, the photo is of the corn that I am quite excited about. They are magnificent to watch as they grow well in their spot and it's the first time we grow our own corn.

Learning for the day? Brassicas are not the greatest to grow over the summer, ours looked like s**t and we have now got a very happy guinea pig. Chopping branches is better with a piece of wood underneath to chop it on. Having 'only' 2 strawberry plants is good (at least 3 edible a week!) but Luka really wants a whole strawberry patch with at least 6 plants in it. Yep, he likes eating strawberries. Pero wants more tyres and more horse poop. Ah, yes the title, we did get free horse manure from the 'birthday scooping'. So, our recycled tyres are now filled to the brim and ready for more planting,....mmm, what to grow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.