Ne'er Day Walk

Eventually managed to get the daughter moving and once she had had enough time to doll herself up we made it out for our Ne'er day walk. Had she moved quicker and taken less time to get ready we would have been out in the better part of the day, regardless, it was bracing and good to be outdoors. So Es had to do her hair again when we got home...

Our walk took us across the field at the Bannockburn Heritage Centre it's a regular route for us but a few weeks since we have been up. The last time there was still barriers up round the statue and rotunda but today there were no such barriers and we got up to the rotunda and saw close up the changes they have made. I have to say I was impressed. I have to admit I did wonder how they could make a noticeable difference to the rotunda but will say they have. I loved the inscription round the top and found out when I got home that it is a specially commissioned poem by Scottish writer Kathleen Jamie:

Here lies our land: every airt
Beneath swift clouds, glad glints of sun,
Belonging to none but itself.

We are mere transients, who sing
Its westlin’ winds and fernie braes,
Northern lights and siller tides,

Small folk playing our part.
‘Come all ye’, the country says
You win me, who take me most to heart.


Remainder of day spent on The Sound of Music, a lovely dinner and Sherlock. A nice relaxing Ne'er Day to start a busy year .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.