Ne'er Day Dinner

It's traditional in Scotland to have steak pie for dinner on 1st January. We had ours at Gran and Papa's. Mum made the steak pie and I helped with the veg. I put a little bit of everything on Conor's plate and he scoffed the lot. He'd also wolfed down a plate of home-made soup about an hour beforehand, after a massive 2-hour nap over lunchtime. I think we can safely say he is on the mend.

Orla on the other hand wasn't so keen to eat her dinner. But once she realised that not eating it wasn't going to get her any attention, she did actually have a go. So she was allowed a treat for pudding.

Orla, Conor and I went to Mass with Gran and Papa earlier in the day, followed by a short remembrance service at the war memorial. She then went to the graveyard with her Gran and Papa to put flowers on her great-grandparents' graves. Lots of reminiscing today, it was nice. I've added a few more notes to my family history Evernote project. I suppose if I have any resolutions for 2014, then it's to make sure I write down as much of the family oral history as I can. I don't want all the anecdotes about people and the way of life to be lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.