GloryGlory

By GloryGlory

Very lucky me

Today's my birthday.

Presents and cards and kisses in bed and over excited kids who make it brilliant.
Hot crossed buns for breakfast and sandwiches packed.
Destination YSP.

Amazing sunshine and blue skys? Check.
Fantastic company from my three most admired? Check.
6 hours of fresh air? Check.
Home to shepherds pie and a fantastic cake made by my family? Check.
Happy me? Check!

Yorkshire Sculpture Park is a favourite of mine.

I first visited it at the tender age of 19 courtesy of the foundation course I was attending. It was literally just a few fields back then, scattered with sculptures, mainly by Henry Moore, and a population of sheep.

My second visit was two years later; still no toilets, cafe or even a visitors information printout, yet I dragged my extended family there, including my 85 year old Gran, in the deep snow, all in the name of my 21st bash!

Since then things have certainly become more civilised and there are now two cafes, a delectable shop and even workshops run on site.

Miss Bs 1st birthday party was there, picnic in the fields, sunshine in September, everyone happy.

I can't remember how many times I've been now but it was certainly one of the top visits today. Angie Lewin was exhibiting, I've admired her work from afar for some time now, and it didn't disappoint.

Here's Mr B next to a new work to us, Ten Seated Figures by Magdalena Abakanowicz. Mr B loves it here too, as seemingly do my kids, which makes my heart sing!






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.