londonesque

By londonesque

mudlarking

What a splendid day; first, pouring rain again but went anyway, & found it wasn't raining nearly so heavily in central London. I was the only person silly enough to join a mudlarking excursion, so I had the archeologist all to myself. I learnt so much! About the river, the city, the bridges, the buildings, ecology of the river, flood protection - all long before we even got down on the shore.

Didn't find anything of spectacular notice, but plenty of interest - flints, old glass, slag, clay pipe stems, teeth - I even found a bit of bike chain. Such a lot to learn about everything, even oyster shells have such a story to tell.

Finally too cold to go on. After a restorative hot chocolate, I was in theatre land, the Globe, the new jacobean theatre, and best, The Rose.

Wandering on, I came across the Borough Market, thronging with people and full of delicious looking food, all very artisan, cheeses, all kinds and forms of meat, colourful fruit and veg, bread, chocolate ... yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.