bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Star Trek meets Pathology Lab

A very clever piece of wall art at Royal Salford Hospital where I was for most of today. Its by a young Manchester artist called Claire Garvin. Its entirely made of test tubes that are wired up to change colours subtley all through the day...like a huge fibre optic lamp. Its on a busy hospital corridor so it was difficult to snap without people walking past, and the lights and reflections of the activity going on around are reflected throughout this picture as I'm not clever enough to get rid of them, but actually sort of liked them anyway! And I was getting funny looks standing by the lifts taking pictures. I have to be ever so careful as any people captured ( I got a great one by accident of a bloke with two broken legs going past!) are patients and we all, quite rightly, have to adhere to extremely tight confidentiality rules, so couldn't post them here. This hospital has been massively modernised over the last 6 years and there are fantastic architectural and design features in the new extensions. A very old friend of mine has been the key driver on this and is about to move on to a new role in another city. I took quite a few pics that I think he might like so will email them to him as a goodbye and good luck message tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.