eseifried

By eseifried

Movement

I've never felt the need to move more than I have since living on this side of the world. I'm not sure if it's the chairs, the stress, the lack of daily coming and goings, but my body screams to move and stretch. Even in the midst of knowing I need, and even wanting, to move, I have my whole list of reasons as to why exercising here is so difficult.

One of the best ways I've found to de-stress are these little workout videos I've downloaded. Today, I had a little yoga buddy. In the midst of our calming breaths, we were giggling at how differently our bodies move due to years of how we've lived our lives. Because Agnes is an African girl, she basically doesn't have hamstrings (due to bending over, straight from the hip, to wash, clean, dig, harvest, everything), and because I'm a 'guilitaat' (white person), who from childhood was told to sit 'indian style', I can sit on the ground with my feet in and not squeal with pain.

I'm on the search for ways to feel physically great here, but even in the midst of a search I am so thankful for a body that can move. And a yoga buddy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.