Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Home Sweet Home

We had plans to go out tonight -- we were going to go to Scott's Open Mic Night at Java Joe's in Yorba Linda. Scott's wife, Peg, hasn't been at Open Mic since the end of August when she started taking evening classes at USC. A couple days ago, Peg had let me know that this evening her 7:00 o'clock class would be cancelled so she'd get to be there, so I told her we'd definitely be at Open Mic.

Mr. Fun and I realized as we sat here eating dinner that we were pooped! Staying home just seemed like the sensible decision. So I texted Peg to let her know and then made a pot of tea and Mr. Fun built a fire. It's been a lovely evening at home . . . exactly what we needed.



I had a wonderful treat this afternoon -- I had forwarded my granddaughter, Ashly, an announcement that our campus is taking a group of transfer students to UCR this Friday to tour that campus and if students want to go they need to RSVP. Ashly will be leaving our campus soon to transfer to a university. I wasn't sure if she's decided which university to attend. So she read the email and then this was her response to me:

I RSVPed. If you could go with me I think it would be really neat. Just throwing that out there. Love, Ashly

I was completely amazed that she'd want me to tag along. I responded to her that she'd look like she was hanging-out with a dinosaur, and if that was okay with her then I'd make my reservation and go along too. So I'll let you know her final decision. Ashly is our first grandchild. She has always been a joy and a delight in our lives and today was no exception. I'll close with this lovely comment from Gene Perret:

"What a bargain grandchildren are! I give them my loose change,
and they give me a million dollars' worth of pleasure."


Good night from rainy (woohoo) Southern California!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.