Jack James

By JackJames

Caerdydd

After the opposite of a productive day yesterday, as I lay in bed, looking north over the distant trees to try and persuade myself that I could see the evasive northern lights, I decided that today would be a productive day.

So, I went to Cardiff. I'd never been before – shocking, seeing as it's only just over an hour away by train – and my friend Kate is at uni there, and happy to show me around.

After a lazy morning brought on by prolonged gazes north, I got the train. I like the train to Wales – I like the Severn Tunnel, an amazing feat of Victorian engineering, and up until the channel tunnels were built, the longest rail tunnel in the UK. I like looking out to the south, the huge steel factories and rail depots – industry is beautiful. I was reminded of a huge open cast colliery in South Wales that I had meant to travel to photograph, but that would have to wait for another day.

I arrived at 1, and met Kate under the arches of Cardiff castle. We walked through Bute park, a large, winding expanse of green that follows the river, ending up at her house. Out for lunch, then an evening stroll around the most noteworthy parts, before heading back to meet up with her flatmate and heading out to have curry.

Curry was amazing - £12 each for what was essentially, for portion size, all you can eat, and we took away a carrier bag full of unfinished deliciousness. Then off to the pub – though unfortunately not enough time for a pint, which would have cost about £1.50. Compared to the prices of the SU in Edinburgh, this was another planet. Pity that I couldn't have stayed, but a 9:30am train to Edinburgh in the morning meant that I had to get the last train to Bath.

Arrived in Bath at twenty to 12, and after informing some disappointed Berliners that there was nowhere to buy alcohol at this time, and that the pub choice was limited, I met up with Tom to have a last pint before I head north tomorrow. This started us at the Raven, before heading to the Star. The Star is a rare breed of pub where all sorts mix in a melee of people mix in a heady drunken fuzz, where the suited, casual, old and young all swirl around together. You have to step over sleeping dogs to get to the bar, and occasionally a ditty from the fiddle works its way though the crowds to please you at your table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.