Jack James

By JackJames

The long journey north

After getting home from the pub with Tom last night at about 2, waking up at 7 this morning was a very big effort. Packing was only able to take place following a list that I had built up in the days leading up to today, and mum was lovely enough to make me a breakfast, coffee and packed lunch.

John gave me and Sol a lift to the station, waved off my Django, Sue and mum. Beautiful skies, a low mist hanging over the flooded fields on the way to Bristol Temple Meads.

We'd both booked first class - ironically cheaper on a Saturday than standard; and so, so much nicer. If anyone has travelled a long distance on a CrossCountry train they'll know what I mean when I say that the trains are bad, and 1st class made it just about bearable.

We both took full advantage of the free drinks and snacks, stockpiling every time the steward went past.

I tried to doze, but for some reason I find it hard to grasp sleep on trains. Even when I've travelled back to Bath after new year, dog tired, I still managed to stay awake until my head hits a pillow.

I'd been trying to get a ticket to see the last showing of Hansel and Gretel by the Scottish Ballet, but in order to get the £10 student deal you have to go in person and show student ID. Jacq tried to get me one, as did Tom, but both were refused as it wasn't them they were getting tickets for, even though they had ID!! Anyway, after a stressful wait in the queue and convincing myself that they had all sold out, I managed to get one of the last 3. Good feeling.

Back to the flat, which is very clean and tidy, for a quick dinner before heading off to see what I think of the Ballet. la-de-dah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.