midwife crisis

By lulubelle

do crows murmurate?

The land that the eco village is built on was bought from the owners of 'Cloughjordan House' - a Georgian Country Farmhouse with links back to a tower from 13th century. It has a great walled garden on one side, that forms part of the boundary to our lands. The big trees in the old walled garden are home to hundreds probably thousands of these birds, black crows of some sort? They make a short but mighty old racket morning and evening and are the sound that has always happily reminded me of my visits to Cloughjordan, before we had even payed fully for our site in about 2007.
During the 3 months I've lived here I've watched them swoop and swirl (almost starling murmuration like) in the evenings, before they settle in the tree tops. The invisible line they seem to follow in the sky has moved lower and lower in the same way as the winter sun. Another little project to check out I think.
I had planned to do a little work with Captain Misty and Shadow, the 2 horses from yesterdays blip, but I am snuffled and snotty with the first cold in a year, so keeping warm and supping ginger, lemon and honey - and blipping :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.