Welcome Sign

In September of 2007, I got an infection...and it was not a normal infection. How can I put this delicately? It was where you sit down. The bum...the behind...the hind quarters...the rear...the tuchus.

Since I couldn't sit down, I was off from work, and I also had to cancel a vacation that was planned with my three sisters.

But, I did go camping with my wife, and her sister and husband. I figured since I was in the company of 2 nurses...I would be fine.

We were camping on the shores of Lake Superior...the largest of our Great Lakes. We would have a spotter on the beach. When a 1000 foot freighter came by...going eastward...we would jump in the car, and beat the ship to Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. Once there...the big ships would enter the Soo Locks...on their way to Lake Huron and beyond. Fascinating to watch.

Back to the campground. Since I couldn't ride a bike, or even walk...I started picking up driftwood. Big pieces...little pieces...all kinds.

I fashioned this sign from the weathered treasures. Hard to believe that after 6-plus years...that not a single glued piece of wood has fallen off.

Gotta go now...I'm DRIFT-ing off.

P.S. Here's a 4 minute video of a "small" 660-foot freighter going through the Soo Locks. HAVE A LOOK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.