What a pile of manure

After a long swim and a session at the gym I came home and emptied one of our big green compost bins and turned the contents of the other bin into the now emptied bin.

I loaded the compost from the bin into a wheelbarrow and pushed it a mile up the road to the allotment intending to dump it on our plot and come home, only to find a rather large pile of manure had been dumped at the allotment. So instead of an easy walk home I spent an hour shifting manure onto our plot and into the communal heap. I'll have to let this lot rot down for a year before using it - it's too raw at the moment, but I did bring a bit home to put around the rhubarb, blackcurrants and raspberries.

Now I'm off to the hospital for more exercise, physio on the knee. Then a rest and snooze in the evening I think.

One great outcome of turning the compost I found a small paring knife that we'd lost months ago at the bottom of the compost bin. We'd guessed that's where it had gone, but it was nice to find it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.