Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Dinner, Dieting, and Date Night

Chicken Tostada dinner tonight. Once or twice a week I have one of these. Okay, maybe once in a while I have a third one--if it's a long week. ;-) I haven't gotten tired of them and I love the tortilla.

Mr. Fun started dieting 14 weeks ago tomorrow (but whose counting?). As of today he has lost 42.4 pounds. He's worked diligently to stick with the plan. He writes down everything he eats every day and stays on a systematic plan. I'm having fun watching him get a little more slender day by day. He looks like a man I used to know.

The bonus for me has been to follow along behind him. I'm not on the same diet plan, but I reduced my intake of calories significantly. We both are eating lots of chopped spinach salads with tomato, onions, cilantro and light dressing. We're eating lots of fruits and lots of veggies. I've lost about half of what he's lost.

Thursday is traditionally date night. Previous to our dieting days, date night always included a journey to a restaurant where we'd suck-up more calories than I even want to think about. It was absolute fun. It got us out of the house and in an intimate booth for two where we could be alone together. So we're thinking creatively about how to have a date night that doesn't put us in the company of thousands of calories. That's a challenge. Everywhere we go, everywhere we look -- it's calories, calories, calories. In spite of that, we're having a good time and figuring out ways to have a good time with each other.

Hope you're having a good time too! Thanks everyone for your comments the past many days. I love this Blip family. Tomorrow I go to UCR with granddaughter Ashly. I hope to capture a fun photo of the two of us checking into what the University of California at Riverside has to offer her.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I emailed yesterday's photo of our friend Mike to his son Brent. He replied with this: "I would love to have more pics of my dad, send whatever you can!" So I plan to look for more and send them to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.