it was dark and drizzling by the time I got out, so I decided to walk across the fields to take photos of the motorway lights.

Today has been a new experience for me. After some of my friends have been doing the "5:2 diet" where you fast (500 calories for women, 600 for men) two days a week and eat normally the rest of the time, I decided to give it a go. Starting today with my first fast day. Contrary to popular thought, I am not naturally thin. My thinness as a young person was due to hyperactivity and not eating enough. As an adult, my natural body size is somewhere between "house" and "really big house". If I tell you that my favourite sandwich contains not only peanut butter and cheese but also mayonaise and that my favourite drink is beer, this won't surprise you. Pregnancy and eating too many of those sandwiches left me a fat blob and so I went on my first ever diet in 2004. Since then I can sadly report that every time I take my eye off the ball, my clothes get very small. So, the idea of being hungry twice a week (or even, hopefully, only once, if things work out) but eating lard-arse food the rest of the week is very attractive. Obviously, the last 100 years of watching what I eat will mean that I am unlikely to go over the top on my "eat what I want" days but it will, hopefully, mean more...well, everything.
One of the things I hated the most about both pregnancy and the post-pregnancy blob was how restricted movement is if you are overweight. My daily walk and all the other movement I do is not about staying thin, it's because moving keeps me happy.
So, I will enjoy my tiny, tiny dinner tonight in the knowledge that I can have a nice breakfast tomorrow. And I enjoyed my walk knowing that I can go on another one tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.