Brave Little Soldier

I was sat watching Sherlock last night, snuggling with my boy, when I found a large lump on Wesley's tail. Of course, being me and having my history of cat trauma, I completely overreacted. Terrified of losing the wee man (like I lost Giles), I ended up cuddling the cat, sobbing, saying please don't die over and over again. Even with a boyfriend, I don't think I can pretend I'm not a crazy cat lady now. Michael coped admirably with a basket case girlfriend on Skype by the way.

I phoned the vets first thing today and managed to get an appointment for this afternoon. I went to Glasgow for a work meeting this morning, but was back at the flat by 2.30 to look after him. The lump appeared to have gone down a bit by then.

This is Wesley in the vets, where he was a brave little soldier. He has a wee shaved section of tail now and we found the problem. Turns out some evil cat has bitten Wesley's tail (as he was running away apparently), the bite had become infected and caused an abscess. He also has a temperature/fever from the infection.

The abscess has now drained and he's on antibiotics for the next 5 days. The really weird thing is that exactly the same thing happened to Louie, my sister and brother-in-law's cat the other day too!

Anyway I'll be keeping him in for a couple of days now - away from a certain evil gray and white cat who I'm sure is the culprit. Imagine wanting to hurt my little biscuit!?!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.