From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

As I walk along I wonder....

Oh I felt so much better today! Thank you all for your good wishes. I'm not entirely sure what killed me off at the weekend but I feel much better now. You have been warned. Switch channels quickly before I start waffling!

I went to 'Abandon Hope All Ye Who Enter Here' otherwise known as McDonalds for my cuppa. I sat down in my usual corner and caught up on blips until just before 7am and then I trundled up the road to the council house. I was only shivering a couple of minutes on the doorstep before I heard the locks sound and the door was pulled open by Robert today. I downed the last of my tea in one huge gulp which was a mistake as - how embarrassing! - he said 'Morning,' and I answered with a huge belch! It came out as 'BURP-orning!'

If Robert heard me, he didn't let on. How dreadful!

I disappeared into the dark office quickly and then the day began. The morning past quickly helped along by an egg toastie, a bag of crisps and some ginger nut biscuits. It seemed a beautiful bright sunny day outside. I was just about to disappear with my camera when Alasdair (our boss and IT Apps manager) appeared around the corner and asked me if I minded having a little chat with a couple of external auditors about Oracle access. I was quite horrified as meetings of any description fill me with dread. He said he would have asked Shauqat but as he wasn't in, I could speak to them or if I didn't want to, they could come back another day. Well that would have been silly, wouldn't it? I followed Alasdair dutifully up to the third floor wondering if there was a blipfoto in it. I dismissed that lunatic thought quickly.

As it happened, it was all quite painless and I was back at my desk less than twenty minutes later with a list of things to email them as proof we are doing the right thing following my brief interrogation from the two men, who kept a close eye on me looking for signs of weakness or nervous tics. I wished as I stood up to leave with my knees knocking like castanets that I wasn't wearing my faded black jeans. I wasn't expecting to rise higher than the ground floor today. Oh well.....

I went out briefly afterwards to catch this shot of St Alphege's which I liked with someone's bicycle in view.

Track? Here is the best version of this track ever by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band with what I felt like doing today - Runaway

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.