Drywalling!

Yesterday went rather well so it was nice to crack on today. Not sure what my target exactly is this week so I'm happy to plod along at my pace.

Another house closed today (yesterday in fact) and our realtor dropped off the key. Another investor! I then managed to send her off on an errand to collect door locks and more insulation, and sent my wife off to the hardware store for a couple of esoteric screws for a tenant. All is going quite nicely.

Wasn't going to redo the insulation in the breezeway (the room I'm working on) but the stuff that's there is quite manky and the wife took the executive desicion to bin the lot, not that I was complaining. Think she enjoyed doing that. However, the amount of roach poo that it uncovered was really quite amazing. With my chest the way it is at the moment the wife was sent in to clean it all out. Think we'll be loading the garage (the source of roaches) up with pesticides when we're done.

Pity that we're retaining the trailer windows in this bit of the house. We'd really like to replace them, but just don't have the $500 needed to do it. When we replace windows in the rest of the house in 2 years, we'll do them then. But we did get them fixed so they open and close properly. They actually created a rather nice breeze as well.

Managed to get one wall drywalled, this is the second one. I'm sure we're doing it wrong but I hate handling this stuff as it's pretty heavy, and with no pencil to help me mark, cutting shapes wasn't going to be easy. Plus the windows are resting on the window sill, so I couldn't take that out easily. Before I get into a "it's not heavy" argument, when you've handled the 6th drywall sheet, yeah, it's getting heavy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.