Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A pleasant surprise at the gym

Well, I was at the gym at the appointed time, and met with the lovely Gordon, who set me up with a few exercises. I used to be able to do half an hour at a time on the bike and cross trainer, but we’re aiming for 5 minutes to start with!

What a very very nice chap he is. Mainly because - wait for it - he plays Classic FM in the gym in the mornings, quietly. He is the first gym person who agrees with me about raucous headbanging NOISE being quite unnecessary in gyms. I have joined and left the gym on several occasions in the past because of this. So I was delirious this morning!

I was also delirious with pain and fatigue after a few exercises. I also forgot my water bottle. But I know it’s the best thing for me and I intend to keep it up. And going early, gets it over with and I feel I’m allowed that rhubarb tart…

After breakfast I got a call from a man telling me something. I thought it might have been the joiner, or maybe the boiler man.

Hullaweretimsonshereahvgoatyersine’ only worse than that.

I had absolutely no idea what he said, so I said, ‘Er... Good!?’

It then became clear it was the chap who had done the name plate for outside the door.

After collecting the name plate, I wandered along a street I haven’t been for a while, and discovered a new cafe. A great new cafe. Free wifi. Paulo Nutini on the soundtrack (ie not screechy X Factor rubbish), papers, magazines and great decor. Had a passable flat white. I must say, since the advent of the home coffee machine I haven’t been seeking out cafes quite as much as I used to…

Last night I set up Netflix. I have been waiting with mounting excitement for this, and now we’ve got it. Six months free with Virgin Media, too. And so we watched five - yes, FIVE - episodes of Breaking Bad last night. Even went past my bed time. I’m going to really really enjoy Netflix!

The doctor phoned, having heard from the neurologist about what to do next re my condition. He’s recommended another 6 months of Vitamin D. Hmmm. My levels must be pretty good after the last lot. Trouble is, they will only do Vit D blood tests once a year, as they're so expensive to do. A whole shelf in my fridge door now contains pills!! Getting old is no fun. But thank goodness for the NHS!

Spending the afternoon hanging curtains/ answering emails/ reading my book/ doing ironing/ sorting paperwork/ sorting cupboards/ hanging pot lids on cupboard doors/ ordering more firewood/ catching up with Series One of the Good Wife on Netflix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.