Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Grumpy!

More dreichness, with BIG WINDS. The school kids used to go mad in this kind of weather, so I should count my blessings...

Bad customer service, companies who don’t reply, machines that stop working, and reading a book that I don’t really like, but keep going, reluctantly, have all added to my general indisposition today. 

1. My marvellous gizmo for cleaning windows etc the Kärcher, has died. And, amazingly annoyingly enough, the rechargeable battery is NOT replaceable. So, in fact, the whole machine might as well be thrown out. Not happy about that.

2. I’ve ordered some fridge magnets (featuring guess who) and the company have never replied to any emails or queries. Just as well I took a screen shot of the order, as their  cheerful ‘You will receive an order confirmation email and a link to track its progress’  seems to be outright lies. (Yes, I have checked my junk mail).

3. The washing machine has decided to play up, and it’s only two years old. Had to ring the company again as they didn’t ring back with a date to come and fix it, as promised.

4. The book I was reading, ‘The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden’ wasn’t as good as his ‘100 Year Old Man’ one. I ploughed on, as I hate to give up when I’ve bought it. But I finally flipped this morning and removed it from my device. I’ve started ‘The Miniaturist’ - much more promising.

And LadyG was right with her prediction - the new shoes I got yesterday and wore all evening trying to learn to love them, are being returned! 

They are so comfy, but the colour was not my heart’s desire.  Apparently none of that colour and size were to be found in all of Edinburgh, but what about the rest of the world - ie Amazon? So I looked on the interweb this morning, and there they were - albeit £5 more expensive, but the colour I wanted (rose, or wine). So that’s good news. 

I wanted to blip the roses, so I got my big black bit of cloth, draped it over the back of the sofa and fiddled around. Archie kept coming to investigate, so I relented and let him be in the shot too. 

Can’t be in a bad mood with wee Archie around. 

Even when we just notice that chunks of the tassel ends of the (expensive) hall rugs are just about all chewed off...


PS  And to top it off... I STILL can't do a thumbnail... Grrrrrr


PPS May I give a collective thanks for any stars given...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.