Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

A real live human being

I hate taking photos of people. The thought of photographing strangers brings me out in hives. A bit ago, the lovely Blipper Jbiggs2 challenged me to just get over myself and go out and take some photos.

Off I went to the open market. I stayed in my comfort zone taking shots of apples and pretty fabrics - whilst marvelling at how many stalls sold nothing but toilet rolls. I noticed a stall holder preening his moustache when he saw my camera so I plucked up courage to ask for a photo - he was delighted. Before I could take it, his colleague dashed up to be in the shot too - my man was not happy about that, which you can see from the shot here. . Once his pal had gone, he requested a solo shot, and I love the pleased expression on his face.

So for me this shot is very special as it has a stranger in it - I popped my cherry!!


ps - a while back, I was horrified when my father-in-law described me as "a mature woman". The memory still hurts. Recently, whilst watching The Bridge (awesome stuff) I have been developing a crush on the male lead, Martin. I have a horrible feeling he may be a middle aged man, and that this is the final nail in my coffin of maturity.

pps - I checked, and he is younger than me. By about 3 weeks. I don't know if that makes it better or worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.