Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Francisco's

One of my very favorite places to shop is a little known fruit and vegetable stand located on the highway between Valencia and Ventura - Francisco's. This little family owned vegetable stand was started about 20 years ago by Francisco - a migrant worker who got tired of dragging his family across the country in search of the next harvest. When he started the stand, he used vegetables that he and his wife grew on their little plot of land. It was very difficult for them for the first few years. They realized right away that they need to get produce from other growers to maintain a steady supply year round. But other growers were selling to the big produce chains. So, Francisco started a co-op with other individuals who grew produce to sell for extra money. Over time, he began specializing in organically grown produce.

We found Francisco's on a vacation that we took up the California coast many years ago. Actually, we were on our way home, and I wanted to bring a box of oranges home with me. We not only bought oranges, but lemons, limes, grapefruits, and a host of other fresh veggies. Years later, when J was working nearby, I was delighted to find Francisco's again.

I asked Francisco and Marta if I could take their picture with their grandson. But Francisco declined. Marta told me that when the newspaper reporters come to interview him, he won't let them take his picture either. So, I guess I don't feel so bad. Francisco's produce will have to do.

Thank you all so much for your wonderful support and encouragement during J's surgery. He is feeling much better now and is on the mend. Thank you so much! It means a great deal to both of us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.