londonesque

By londonesque

walking in the rain

Almost my last day here, not counting tomorrow which is tidy up and pack day. So headed off to Hackney Marshes thinking I would see some evocative bleak ... well, marshes. Astoundingly, there are about 50 football pitches there and cricket too, for good measure. Not begrudging the East End its playing fields, just not what I was expecting. The Lea was flowing fast and muddy, and it came on to rain pretty heavily, and I was without my raincoat cos it was sunny when I left.

So the walk wasn't turning out too well, until I stumbled across the Middlesex Filter Beds - where the water was once taken out of the Lea and cleaned before being pumped round North London. It was evocative, strange, mysterious ... so everything was alright again.

Caught a bus home as discovered I'd walked miles and miles, also once away from river not sure I'd find my way.

Now gearing up to see another Buster Keaton film at the BFI.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.