ThompsonTwin

By ThompsonTwin

Jukebox

This is an exhibit in the Jeremy Deller exhibition All That Is Solid Melts Into Air that I visited again today. It's about his view of the industrial revolution and popular culture, and this is a customised jukebox playing sounds of industry and workers' songs (more here). I also liked the photo portraits of anonymous women iron workers in Wales from the 1860s and there was a fantastic film documenting the steel industry in 1945. The cinematographer was the great Jack Cardiff so it was beautifully shot and despite the voice in my head shouting "what about health and safety" (sunglasses seemed to be the only protective clothing around) I was transfixed. I see that it is available on DVD and the BFI are touring it and other films about industrial heritage, although unfortunately not near here - more info and a couple of stills.

Now the Bridge is starting so that's the rest of the evening sorted

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.