A new beginning

The big day arrived. This is what the move was about. Today I was Instituted and Inducted as Vicar of this church. After the long goodbye it was time to say "hello".

A morning of preparations followed by lunch at home with a few family and friends. It was a lovely gathering. Then on to the service at 3pm. The church was packed, probably about 400 people - congregation members from my previous parish, friends from all over, local dignatories and, of course, congregation members from the new parish. I don't think I've ever shaken so many hands in one afternoon! It was a wonderful service, formal but relaxed. Followed by refreshments afterwards.

My mother, aunt and my friend from Alnwick are staying the night. Tomorrow afternoon it is back to work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.