emilythepemily

By emilythepemily

HAPPY FATHERS DAY

well, now i have lots and lots of time on my hands........ yeah right!!!!!!!

As I ended student life on saturday, the real world burrows into my calender, sinking its teeth into my spare time and infecting my wallet!



actually theres quite alot of drastic changes going on in my new adult life

1) moving in with my boyfriend (which our familys are determined for us to marry just so they can buy hats...no doubt scarlett, chick and simply will be trawling through ebay in antisipation- sorry pops!)

2) renting a beautiful flat in Richmond (a haunt of cousin tom) fingers crossed all goes to plan with the proving of salaries (long story)

3) starting full time employment with a responsibility to keep on top of rent, bills etc (never had to do that before- quite bad really)

4) I start my new job tommow, 9am oxford circus...which means i have to get up at 6.45! now, I have not done that for a while, It used to be the time I get in from my bar jobs...not sure I will enjoy this malarky! however, think career emily, career! (authough mcdonalds do a great starting graduate salary of 18,500 and ownership of a resturant within 3 years (40k) but no, emily, think career!

and I only finished my degree on friday!....sigh

yesterday went really well, i had so much fun and felt proud and relieved at the same time, i felt proud showing off my work to shit loads of people for the first time and collecting many promising comments, and relieved because...thats it, i cant do anymore to my degree....the show is up and running, the marks collected and verified and the results in on tuesday.

i think the biggest change will be coming home and not having to feel guilty for not drawing, not having to think about the artwork i should be doing, or thinking about what i can do to add to what i have already done! for the last 5 years really i haven't been able to get away from ART!

30% of me enjoyed it, but the other 70% made me sick with worry. in the words of bob 'its all over now baby blue!'

dont get me wrong i shall be eternally greatful to art though. it has taught me alot about me!

how well i take critisism
how badly i have been at time keeping
how good i am at organising things/people
how crap i am at organising myself
how good i am at talking in front of people
how crap i am at explaining things


it has brought me to london (my dream) and in turn lead me to lance (my love)
i have met some amazing people and some idiots-some i will see again, some i definalty wont.

but now i have never been more confused about where I am going or what i want. i know i want some money- but do i want to do art? do i want to ever draw again?
will i ever be in a job i really enjoy- or is it too far fetched.

up until now my dreams have been to move to london, go to university and be an artist. i have achieved all this....now what!

well until i decide it'll have to be the topshop graduate training scheme with a 1 year progression to a assistant buyer, sounds good for now (will i make it?)

anyway enough of me waffling

goodbye camberwell-wish me luck for tuesday and hello scary real world- which, by the way, is not full of oppertunity and graduate paths paved with gold!

heres to the grown up emily

p.s HAPPY FATHERS DAY POPS

ive been thinking about you all day, and ways I can show my thanks for your help over the last 3 years. I am eternally grateful for your and ma's financial and emotional support, I feel you two have taken a massive chunk of pressure off my back and I really really appreciate it....thankyou thankyou thankyou

xxxx


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.