The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Early blossom

It was very foggy this morning driving to work which prompted my Granddaughter Cleo to complain we had had every conceivable weather this winter except snow, the only weather she really wanted!! (Although I suspect this has more to do with 'snow days' off school than the actual white stuff.)
On my way home later in beautiful winter sunshine I noticed this tree in full bloom beside the road.
Now, what with the sun I could just have half closed my eyes and believed it was finally spring, but no! This is Prunus Subhirtella Autumnalis - the winter flowering cherry. Such a clever little plant, flowering for England in the depths of winter, bringing hope to all those in the grip of despair.....It does a good job with autumn colours too. I know it cheered me up.....and the Daffs are jut showing and the crocus... the only way is up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.