Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It's Gone!

Disappeared!!

My favourite cafe with the great flat whites in the Grassmarket. Empty shop.

Everybody must have had a whale of a time last night, judging by the little piles of vomit all over the Grassmarket (I exaggerate only slightly). Either that, or there is one very very sick person in town who really should be in hospital.

However, it meant that I could wander on to my second favourite cafe and try out their scones. As you can see, they are pretty special. Those are grapes, though they look like olives.

Before this treat, I had wandered up to the gym about 8.30am. I must say, it’s such a pleasure to walk into the gym and hear quiet classic music on. I keep thinking I’m dreaming. I managed 5 minutes on the bike no bother with not so much bother as last time. And my heart rate was lower too. This is achieved by not holding on the to bit of the handlebars that measure it. Take 'em off when it gets too high!

Then I wandered off to do some armwork. The lovely Gordon was there with a group doing exercises in the back room, which meant I couldn’t go in and use the TRX and the big bit of heavy plastic pipe. Don’t ask. They’re murder.

Suddenly, Gordon left his exercise group, ran past to his computer, then ran back. Boom! Boom! Rap muzak!! Loud!!! The dream turned to a nightmare.

I thought somebody had interfered with it (I know where the controls are, so maybe somebody else does). I sidled up behind him pointed out that there was rap muzak on, in case he hadn't noticed.

It’s 9 o’clock. I change it at 9am,’ he said. I like to think, apologetically.

Sooooooo, of that's not an incentive to get to the gym early, I don't know what is!

Wandered into town. Went into the library to pick up a roll of the cooncil waste food bags, which are apparently sold there. The lady, who was quite, er, rotund, bent down to get a roll of bags from the cupboard. She was gasping a bit, and holding on to the counter, and I recognised a fellow bending-down-is-murder sufferer.

When she creaked back up, I popped another £1 on the counter and heard myself saying, ‘Make that two rolls.’ The look on her face said it all, though she said nowt.

So of course, when she hauled herself back up for the second time, I popped a third £1 on the counter,

Actually - make that three rolls.’

Before some bad words slipped from her lips, I said, ‘Just kidding!’ She did smile. Or was it a grimace…

PS The dizziness has gone too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.