Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I add to my list of apologetic employees

Spent a half hour or so with Susan from my chosen Power Supply company. I have spent a lot of time in the company of George, Kirsty, Alan, Christine, Fiona and Ross. Not forgetting Mark, of course, who assured me they’d be on to it within the hour. When I rang next day I found out he’d been talking though his ar.. armpit.

And that’s just the people that I noted - the first few I didn’t write down, as I thought it would be straightforward… How wrong I was.

Today Susan was most apologetic and extremely concerned (they all are - they have to be, the phone calls are recorded) but said she could do nothing, I had to ring the Main Number.

I rang the Main Number and got Nick, who said,

You’ll have to ring the Home Comfort Department.’

‘I just have, and they said I had to ring your department.’

‘I don’t know why they said that, we just do bills and meters.’


Anyway, Nick rang them and he seems to have a better answer than I had half an hour before - my details are ‘coming over’ and I can ring next week. Next week?? My details have been ‘coming over’ for weeks. How long does it take details to ‘come over’? Is my account coming by sea? Or overland on a camel train?

I note the direct debit is fully functioning with no cock ups hold ups ...

A man came about putting a shelf up in the kitchen. I could almost, almost do it myself… but no, I’ll employ a man. Wouldn’t want it crashing down as we sat at the dinner table. Or sat anywhere, really.

Uncle A came round for lunch and to see the Africa photos. I must say, he’s easy to please - tomato soup and toast, then he went off to his physio.

By this time it was well into the afternoon. I thought about popping out for a blip, and then decided to do an indoor one and settle down on the sofa. The roses from a couple of weeks ago are still going strong. This one I sprayed with mirror and glass cleaner, not having a water spray. I suppose I've killed it, but it did have a long happy life. I also cloned out the white grouting in the background.

I’ve been hammering and screwing things for pot lids and pots to hang, and no dizzy spells. Maybe it’s gone… I’ll ignore it and it might just slip away, without any fuss…

But I still should do some recuperating on the sofa.

With the faux-leopardskin throw and Netflix.

And nibbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.