Life In Wales

By KarenC

Hello down there!

This morning I joined Kate and a few others from the walking group to plan next week's walk. We met in the small village of Firle which is very pretty, although there isn't much there apart from a very nice pub, a village store/post office and the village church. One thing that was really nice to see was that some of the cottages had stands outside with flowers and fresh vegetables for sale, and there was an honesty box for the money. It's not often you see that kind of thing these days.

As we walked, we headed towards a very big hill which we didn't realise we had to walk up and according to the GPS on my phone, the elevation was 553 ft. Once we got up there the views were fantastic, and we walked for about 4 miles which is shorter than normal, but more arduous as it was a gradual climb.

We then dropped back down into the village and walked past a field of horses. This one was particularly friendly and leant over the wall to see Louis. I managed to capture this before Louis started barking at him, and you look closely you'll see that Louis' coat is rather muddy, but at least it saved him getting too dirty!

Once home, I spoke on skype to Marie-Christine (aka Falbalas) who I met on blip. She lives in Paris and wants to improve her English, so we talk from time to time and it helps us both as I get to speak in French as well.

Anyway, I'm going to put my feet up now as I'm tired after all that hill climbing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.