Afternoon Sun

I don't know where the time's gone today - I had my French group this morning, after which we went to the local cafe for a drink, home for lunch and then out again with Louis.

My friend Annie has kindly offered to look after Louis for us when we go to London next month, and although he knows Annie he's never been to her house. So this afternoon I went round to see her and took him with me. He was very excited, had a good sniff around, and seemed very settled, but I'll take him round again just so it becomes familiar.

On the way back the sun was starting to set and I like the curvature of this building and how it was lit up against the dark sky. There are lots of old mansions in Brighton, and I looked up the history of it - it dates back to 1827 and consists of nine large 4 storey houses. Number 1 was occupied by the first Lord Sudeley from 1836 to 1858. Number 2 was the home of the famous journalist George Augustus Sala in the 1890's and Number 9 was occupied by King Manoel II of Portugal during his exile. Nowadays most of these houses are converted into apartments, but I would have loved to have seen them as they were originally.

Anyway, Louis and I walked back by the beach, and are now getting warm by the fire. Alan's just sent me a message to say he's on his way home so I'll go and get the dinner on, and catch up with you later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.