“I LOVE LOOKING AT A HEALTHY COLON“
Rexy, the Pink

While in Bosque, I had an unsettling health problem,
Off to my doctor on Monday,
Turned out to be one of those - feels-worse-than-it-is conditions.
Whew.

Now, Doctor Rash believes in the colonoscopy.
Actually, she’s what I’d call a zealot.
With her, Resistance is futile.
I know I’ve tried for years.
This time she went deep with scare tactics.
"...she waited too long, and they removed 4 ft (yds.,km) of colon."
“OK.” I said, “Uncle”
By Monday afternoon, I had a colonoscopy scheduled for today.

Don’t let the prep scare you.
A soup-like diet for a couple of days,
Followed by 24 + hours without solid food.
Then , there’s the Miralax Purge the day before.
But hey, 3 hours of drinking Mira-lemonade,
Followed by 6 hours of - well, staying close-to-home.
Beats cancer.

The procedure is a snooze-and- done kind of thing.
The colon is searched for polyps,
Those little “mushroom-shaped” growths of tissue on the inner colon lining.
Found in 1-6 adults. It’s not known why they develop, and they don’t release any warning symptoms. If undetected , a high percentage grow and often develop into colon cancer. Remove the polyp, prevent the cancer.

As you can see in this pic,
My colon is a polyp-free stunner, and
I find myself wondering why I avoided this for so long.
After all,
Colon cancer is the most preventable of all cancers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.