Dog Eats Processor Story

Just messing around with this s/h Mac Mini I picked up for this years FotoStelvio. I put a new faster processor in it a couple of weeks ago, but it's run it's fan at 100% ever since.

Obviously I had got something wrong. So whilst I disassembled it again this evening, one of the nylon pylons that holds the heatsink to the processor managed to spring across the room (its loaded under a little pressure with a spring).

Before I managed to retrieve it, JimBob had found it and swallowed it. I got the spring out of his mouth but the pylon was long since swallowed.

I've tensioned it under 2 pylons now, but......4 would be better. (If I did it under 3 it won't hold the heatsink against the processor correctly, the pressure has to be balanced).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.