Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chimney Cakes!

We finished Breaking Bad last night. 62 episodes! What a story. I miss them all already, and have been browsing BB websites, interviews and blogspots. It must have been hitting fever pitch when the series was nearing an end last year.

After my porridge, I had another attempt at infiltrating the Emirates website to add airmiles. Nope. Rang phone number. Nope. Went in to the Travel Agent, who, for some reason, thought I was bringing in my safari photos to show her…

However, she did point out the correct booking reference number. And yes, it worked! Air miles added. Now we need to use them before August…

Had a wander round the High Street. More scaffolding going up everywhere. I decided to walk home through the Meadows - exercise - with, possibly, a wee treat. Succesfully walked past the crepes Police Box. Then passed Sainsbury’s, which has the most divine pain au raison. Things were going well…

Then I came upon a wee cart, which I’ve seen before but not stopped. Chimney Cakes! I walked on by. Well done!

But I faltered... I stopped and went back… all in the interests of a blip, of course.

Peter rolled out the pastry, cut it, wrapped it round the wooden holder, then popped it into the wee oven. He invited me to try the raw pastry he'd cut off. I did, and it was really delicious. He explained all about these lovely curly ‘cakes’, originating in Hungary, more precisely from Transylvania, in 1723.

The cake comes out hot, and looks huge, but of course, it’s empty in the middle, so can’t be many calories at all. I started eating it. Yum yum! A chap was walking towards us and I shouted to him, ‘This is great!’ pointing to the ‘cake’. He pointed to his earplugs, but he understood the gesticulations, methinks.

It will be very hard impossible to pass this little cart in the future!

There are a couple of rounds left still, for JR. Mind you, they may not still be there by later this afternoon...

PS Meant to mention yesterday. As I was making a coffee the other night, I heard the fridge making little baaaa-ing noises, like a wee lamb. True.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.