Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chinese New Year

Had a phone call today with a big long unintelligible message. I find if I haven't a wee clue as to what it might be about, then they might as well be talking Chinese. I had absolutely no idea what was said. I thought for a bit - was it the joiner saying the shelves were finished? Was it the soundproofing man? Was it the man coming to pick up our spare door? Was it someone wanting me to sell raffle tickets for the blind? Was it the man delivering coal?

I thought for a while, and eventually I had to admit, ‘I have no idea what you said.’

Yes, it was the man delivering some bags of coal on Monday. So that’s all good. They will go in my shed. Talking of my shed...

I will not tell you about falling into my shed and getting stuck.

OK then, I will…

I was hammering a nail inside in a corner (maybe you can guess what for) crouched down inside the shed, when I toppled backwards. Fortunately, I landed on all the lovely Christmas tree clippings. They would actually make quite a good bed. But I was stuck, like a cast sheep.

I pondered the idea of waiting till the postman came, and then decided that would be too embarrassing - I’d have to pretend I was supposed to be there, and wanted to stay there, maybe to read any junk mail that he brought….

Much huffing and puffing and I did get out. Obviously.

This morning I spotted that this event was starting this evening - to celebrate Chinese New Year, so I resolved to pop out later for my blip. So I watched Jeremy Kyle and Loose Women on morning TV… just kidding - I sat and read my new book in the trilogy. Then I banked up the fire so that the room would be toasty when I came back. JR declined to spend an hour standing around in the freezing cold while I fiddled around. Very sensible, actually.

I was there about an hour, and in the end had to leave because I couldn’t work my fingers. It was freezing - that wind is direct from the Arctic. I’m not happy with any of the photos, actually, because with the lights inside the soldiers they were very bright, while their faces weren’t lit and were dark. And they moved all the time in the wind. However, this gives you an idea - it’s a spectacular show.

I’m sure there were some blippers there - there were certainly plenty of cameras.

Happy Chinese New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.