The Driver

Went into the city today for lunch with my son. As we reached the foodhall a whole troupe of Chinese drummers and dragons and cymbol clashers came tumbling through all the shops, it was a wonderful sight! It was Chinese New Years Day and this was the Dragon Dance meant to bring good luck to the community!

We were part of a big crowd that followed them along as they went in and out of the shops and restaurants spitting out lettuce leaves. Everyone was reaching out to touch them and taking photographs and throwing the lettuce back at them, quite hilarious.

I couldnt stop taking photos as there was so much excitement! Later when I looked at them all this one caught my eye. It was the moment when the dragon reared up and momentarily exposed the boy underneath who was the 'driver' of this dragon. I dont remember actually seeing this happen and I found it quite fascinating that I captured it, what a strange little group shot:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.