What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

To Make Bird Nesting Boxes

I had some old fencing planks left over after I replaced them at the house. It is
about ten or twelve years ago that I last made some bird boxes. Most of the boxes I made then have started to rot away and it is time for some new ones.

As you can see, I have started a production line and I think it will take about a week to use up all the planks.

The trick of course is to make the circular opening suitable for the size of the birds. These ones are suitable for great tits.

I will make up one box suitable for a robin but that will have an opening rather than a circular entrance.

Mind you it can be a bit tricky putting up a robin's box because they like a nice dense holly bush in which to nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.