BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Lioness Has Now Left, Preston Hall

Day 33 of 365. Long run time again today and managed 1hr 55 this time - my longest one to date and great training for the half-marathon in a couple of weeks. Luckily, today was sunny if a bit cold and windy. My brother came along to keep me company but I could see with about twenty minutes to go he had his "face on" - I know the expression so well, it means he's hit "the wall" and he's no longer enjoying the run even a little bit. Somehow we managed to drag ourselves back home but we were absolutely knackered by the time we got indoors and managed to sit down (with a lot of creaking)! I had to have a long, hot soak (no ice baths for me!) and a bit of a snooze before I felt better.
Today's shot is from Preston Hall which is very close to where I live. It is a Grade 2 listed building and at the front the entrance was protected by two magnificent sandstone statues, a lion and, on the plinth in this photograph, a lioness. This was until late October last year when they were both stolen, the police think , to order. Luckily, they were recovered a week or so later but they have not been restored to their original pride of place since and I don't know if they ever will again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.