Cool cat

Izzy was having trouble keeping cool today. I found her under this old wheelbarrow in the garden, in the shade.

It wouldn't really matter where you were today, it was HOT! 30 degrees C - and that was in the shade.

Milking at lunchtime was terrible. No breeze, and stuck in a pit with two rows of rather hot cows. We put the fans on in the shed, but they only created a wee bit of a breeze. At one stage I wet my face, and that helped a wee bit. Once home for lunch, I sneaked into the swimming pool without anyone seeing. I just jumped in. It was lovely and refreshing. The boys couldn't believe it when I came inside wet - I had previously told them that it had to be REALLY hot for me to get in the pool. And it was hot!

After lunch Farmerboy went and turned the hay again while I spent 2 hours cleaning the cottage. We had a couple of fishermen staying for over a week, so it took me a while to get it cleaned - and of course I had to to stop and stand in front of the fan many times to cool down.

Home for tea, but before that I had to jump into the pool again to cool down. See it was hot, for me to get in the pool twice today!

We had a nice relaxing BBQ for tea. A lovely way to end Nelson Anniversary day.

Back to work for me tomorrow. The boys don't go back to school until Friday, so tomorrow they will be out helping Farmerboy, doing odd jobs around the farm, while he starts rowing up the hay. The contractor arrives in the morning to bale it - then it will be a mad rush to get it in the shed tomorrow night, as it's meant to rain on Wednesday. It's going to be a long day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.