SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

From a Railway Carriage

This poem by Robert Louis Stevenson is in a book of children's verse that I bought for my friend who teaches Primary School Children in Australia.

She's lived there for about 10 years now I think. Every now and again (Probably when she's missing us all and the parties we're having) she does some lessons about Scottish culture-just to keep her hand in you understand. So to help her out I thought I'd blip this-then she doesn't have to wait for the book to arrive and she can have her own sneak preview. I remembered it well from our own school days.

It's apt for my pic today as this one was from the train too.

Faster than fairies, faster than witches,
Bridges and houses, hedges and ditches;
And charging along like troops in a battle
All through the meadows the horses and cattle:
All of the sights of the hill and the plain
Fly as thick as driving rain;
And ever again, in the wink of an eye,
Painted stations whistle by.
Here is a child who clambers and scrambles,
All by himself and gathering brambles;
Here is a tramp who stands and gazes;
And here is the green for stringing the daisies!
Here is a cart runaway in the road
Lumping along with man and load;
And here is a mill, and there is a river:
Each a glimpse and gone forever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.